

*** 2014 Annual Meeting *** Event Center, Cragun's Resort, Brainerd Tuesday, November 18, 2014 8:30 am

MINUTES

ITEM 1: CALL TO ORDER & WELCOME

The meeting was called to order at 8:38 am by President Mike Vasek.

ITEM 2: APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion by Mr. Rick Frederickson, Windom, to approve the agenda as presented; second by Ms. Sharon Kipka, Foley. Motion carried.

ITEM 3: APPROVAL OF 2013 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

Motion by Mr. Scott Vedbraaten, Newfolden, to approve the 2013 Annual Meeting Minutes as presented; second by Mr. Mark Frank, Menahga. Motion carried.

ITEM 4: APPROVAL OF PROPOSED BY-LAWS AMENDMENT: COMPOSITION AND ELECTION

Motion by Mr. Rick Frederickson, Windom, to approve the By-Laws Amendment: Composition and Election; second by Mr. Chris Mills, Minnesota State University--Moorhead. Motion carried.

ITEM 5: APPROVAL OF 2015 RECOMMENDED PLATFORM

Motion by Mr. Pat Medure, Grand Rapids, to approve the 2015 Recommended Legislative Platform; second by Mr. Ron Bratlie, Cromwell-Wright. Motion carried.

ITEM 6: INTRODUCTION OF 2015 BOARD CANDIDATES

Candidates for the MREA 2015 Board of Directors who were in attendance were invited to introduce themselves to the membership. Candidates in attendance were:

North Zone/At-Large Representative (new 4-yr term):

•	Ron Bratlie	Superintendent	Cromwell-Wright
•	Jaci David	Community Member	Grand Rapids

Scott Vedbraaten Community Member Marshall County Central

Candidate Beth Vetter, a Teacher from East Grand Forks, was not in attendance.

Candidates Mona Putzel, School Board Member from Eveleth-Gilbert, and Shane Zutz, Principal at Thief River Falls, had previously withdrawn their nominations.

North Central Zone/Teacher Representative (new 4-yr. term):

Mark Frank
 Teacher
 Menahga

South Central Zone/School Board Representative (new 4-yr. term)

Candidate Heather McLagan, a School Board Member from Renville County West, was not in attendance.

South Zone/Administrator Representative (last year of 4-yr. term)

• Todd Holthaus Superintendent Hills-Beaver Creek

ITEM 7: RECOGNITION OF OUTGOING BOARD MEMBER

President Vasek presented a Certificate of Appreciation to outgoing Director Roger Rudebusch, Lake Benton.

ITEM 8: NEW BUSINESS

8.1: John Baylor Prep Partnership

Executive Director Fred Nolan announced a new MREA partnership with John Baylor ACT Test Prep providing program discounts to member districts.

8.2: 2015 Annual Business Meeting

The 2015 Annual Conference will be Nov. 15-17 at Cragun's Resort. The Annual Meeting will be Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2015 at Cragun's Resort.

ITEM 9: ADJOURNMENT

Motion by Mr. Mark Frank, Menahga, to adjourn the 2014 MREA Annual Business Meeting at 9:00 am; second by Mr. Scott Vedbraaten, Newfolden. Motion carried.